Skip to content

Trying something new.

August 15, 2011

I’ve always been a little curious about this apparently new flavour of cakes and biscuits in shops recently – Lavender. I’ve always seen lavender as the sweet smelling plant we have in our garden, never as a baking ingredient. So yesterday I finally plucked up the courage to try my very own Lavender Cupcakes.

© Lou

The recipe.

225g/8oz unsalted butter

225g/8oz self- raising flour

225g/8oz caster sugar

4 large eggs

2-3 tablespoons lavender flowers

2 drops vanilla essence

 

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 18°C /350°F/Gas 4. Add the flour and lavender and beat with an electric whisk to grind the flowers a little. Sift the mixture into a mixing bowl, and then discard the pieces of flower left in the sieve.
  2.  Cream together the butter and sugar. Add the vanilla essence.
  3. Alternately add small amounts of the flour and eggs, beating the mixture well before adding the next. Once all ingredients are together and the mixture is light and fluffy, spoon it into cupcake cases and place in the oven for around 15- 20 minutes (or until cooked through).
  4. Once cooked, allow to cool and add frosting/icing of your choice.

I chose a simple butter cream frosting for my cupcakes as I wanted to keep the cake’s light flavour.

© Lou

I really need to work on my icing abilities.

Anyways, aesthetics aside, I really love the result. The lavender adds a subtle flavour to the cupcakes, and they smell wonderful! Who knew such a simple addition to a cupcake mix could enhance it even more. They’ve gone down a treat with my parents, and they couldn’t believe what the added ingredient was. I realise I’m late in joining the lavender party, I only wish I’d tried them before!

P.S

© Lou

With some of my left over mix I made some Easter egg cupcakes after spotting these last week.

They didn’t turn out perfect but they were certainly encouraging. Plenty of time to practice before Easter though.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Steven Roy permalink
    August 15, 2011 21:09

    I keep hearing about lavender in food but I have never tried it yet. Maybe I should after reading this.

    • August 15, 2011 22:49

      it’s amazing! i never thought it could taste as nice as it does. more lavender cupcakes for me please :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

