Skip to content

Can you tell a book by its cover?

February 11, 2010

A few days ago I came across a lovely blog post about covering a yearly diary- making it something that’s unique and personal. For Christmas I was given a beautiful moleskine diary, in which I can plan the most amazing year, however I already had a moleskine sketchbook. For those who aren’t familiar with moleskine products you don’t need really need to know much other than they are stunning books which are very well made. oh and most of them have black covers. I’m sure you can see where this is going. That’s right, I’ve been getting them mixed up recently, picking the wrong book up as I rush past my desk in the morning on the way out of the door. After seeing the aforementioned blog post the solution seemed simple, cover one of the books.

I decided it was probably best to cover my sketchbook first, as it’s the book that will be most filled with my creative ideas. But what images to use? Photography?… Formula 1?…A pattern? I glanced around the study for ideas before my eyes rested on an old copy of Autosport magazine that Mum had bought for me in the corner that I’d been meaning to throw away for a while.

With the topic decided, I set about finding the various other old Autosport magazines I’d collected over the years and selected images from them. It was really interesting to look back through the old headlines and photographs, plus at the same time justified my obsession with collecting magazines (lets not mention the 2 years worth of f1racing magazines i have arranged on a special shelf).

With the images chosen, and the double sided and masking tape at the ready I set to work…

… After a few hours I came up with this…

© Lou Johnson

© Lou Johnson

It was great fun to create, and I have a feeling I may be covering my diary sooner rather than later.

So… what do you think?

x

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 23:04

    Oh.. and just for Lukeh I made sure I used loads of photos of Rubens 😉

  2. February 11, 2010 23:11

    That is really, really lovely! Wow! You were right, you did have a creative evening and it shows 🙂 Definitely a great pickup after a silly Thursday. at least now you definitely can’t get confused!

    Of course, loving the Rubens pictures! But after last year and the success of Brawn and Jenson you definitely choice a great time to get photos for it too. Maybe one day someone can do the same thing with your F1 photos. 😉

  3. Christine permalink
    February 13, 2010 14:38

    Can I have one, please?

  4. July 26, 2010 02:35

    May I make a suggestion I use on my blog? When I use text alongside a picture, before I upload the image, I add an eight-pixel white margin, with an image editor, on the left or right of the image as relevent, so the text is slightly separated from the edge of the picture in the post. Sorry if you think I am being interfering but WordPress can making formatting tricky, and I hope this might considered a constructive tip that I find very useful.

Leave a Reply

