Skip to content

Goodwood Festival of Speed 2010 – Sunday

July 25, 2010

My first thought was ‘wow how is it sunday already?’ the weekend really was flying by. We’d had great fun on both Friday and Saturday and having looked through my images I had a rough idea of what I wanted to get out of the day. We set ourselves a bit of a mission – meet Crofty and Ant from five live. You can see how we got on here.

We arrived at what had became our usual time decided to climb a little further up the hill than we had previously. We failed. There is just so much to do that it really wasn’t long until we found ourselves distracted by a rather awesome Porshe experience display.

© Lou Johnson

It wasn’t long before we found ourselves back at our favourite place-  we really did spend most of our weekend there. I did get a better shot of Karun though!

© Lou Johnson

In our mission to meet Crofty we attended the lotus interview with Heikki Clive Chapman and Sir Stirling – not in a wheelchair and looking much healthier. An insightful half an hour was had by all in the fan Q&A and I think everyone appreciated the effort gone to. Brilliant Stuff.

© Lou Johnson

© Lou Johnson

We tried to watch more of the hillclimb in the afternoon too, we failed at that too so returned to the paddock for the final run of the cars. You really do need to turn up to the edge of the track early if you want a good position, some years you can be lucky and just find a place, other times not so much.

Now I know I said standing in the paddock was great but it can be loud! Especially when some drivers rev their engines whilst in the crowd- I’m looking at you Mr Jean Eric Vergne. My advice bring and wear earplugs.

What else can I say about Sunday? Well stayed until the end when all the prizes were given out just so we could lap up every single last moment. I even managed to get Heikki to do me a quick favour before he left. Oh and we even met Holly again!

© Lou Johnson

In summary, Goodwood really is worth every penny of your money, truly brilliant, it doesn’t get boring if you go three years in a row, however it does take alot out of you – especially if it’s that hot! Can’t wait for next year though, who’s going to join me?

More of my Goodwood photographs can be found on my flickr

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 22:08

    Goodness, I forgot about that French Red Bull driver. How annoying was that? Silly man. Loved all of your posts though, some amazing memories and of course photos 🙂

  2. July 26, 2010 00:44

    stunning lou, just stunning. all of them.

Leave a Reply

