Skip to content

New Beginnings

September 20, 2010

Woah, I did it, I moved to university. All the struggle with Alevels, university interviews and exams is over and I’m currently living what I fought so hard to get. I’m an actual university student! I’m sure part of my still thinks that I’m going back to school soon, after 15 years I’ve broken free from the mundane repetition of a school week and I’m finally starting to settle down to learn about something I’m really interested in. Fresher’s week is over and we can now knuckle down to some serious photography study. We’ve completed our mobile phone project (a photo which sums up our first feelings about going to university – photo below) and got our semester time table, eeeek!

©Lou Johnson

So what next?

Well, we’ve got our first and only mini, non marked, project based on Carte De Visite photography. Our brief details we’ll need one colour and one black and white print, giving us the perfect opportunity to profect both types of dark room techniques and learn about how a typical project can be set up. I’ve done my research which included finding my own Carte de Visite photographs of my own family ad shooting two rolls of films. It’s safe to say I’m eager to get started for real with our first project ‘The photograph as a Document’  –  it’s going to be awesome! I’ll try to keep you all updated with the happenings of my life at uni and what I’m learning photography wise.

I’ve finally got a darkroom at home too, so I predict much more analogue work from me for a bit!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Steven Roy permalink
    September 20, 2010 16:42

    I hope you keep blogging about your universtiy experiences. It will make a great record for you.

    I assumed your course would be completely digital now but I guess there is a lot that you can learn from dealing with film. Much easier to understand the process when you have to work through it than click and there is a photo.

    • September 20, 2010 17:24

      our course is a nice balance between digital and film which is great 🙂 specially as i can’t see myself using film alot as an f1 photog

  2. September 20, 2010 16:45

    All the best Lou, and make sure you keep us updated!

  3. September 20, 2010 17:42

    I hope you keep blogging about your universtiy experiences. It will make a great record for you.

    I second this. A nice record for you, and nice for us… because we are nosy.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention New Beginnings « Photo Finish -- Topsy.com
  2. I’ve never been very good with decisions.. « Photo Finish

Leave a Reply

