Skip to content

Documenting my Uni life

November 11, 2010

Sincere apologies for my lack blogging of late, university life is so much busier than I had anticipated. The work load, while enjoyable, is pretty demanding leading me very little time to sit down and devote a few moments to my blog. As ever I’ll try to write as much as I can, but for now I figured I’d just bring you all up to date with my first couple of months at University and bring your attention to a few of the photos I’ve taken along the way.

One of our main units this semester is Documentary Photography or to give it it’s official name ‘The Photograph as Document’. Throughout the first half of this unit we were given a series of weeklong mini projects designed to help us prepare for the main ‘Stranger Project’. I’m just starting this larger project now, whereby we need to follow and document the life of someone we have never met before – hence the stranger part. We’ve got to do a minimum of 5 shoots and try to capture their personality and life in a final 15 shots which we’ll present to the year. Eeeekk! How scary!

This whole unit is a little daunting, from our introductory lecture we’ve been thrown in the deep end. While terrifying it’s really helped to shape me as a photographer and helped me to develop more confidence. So, what were the 3 mini projects then?

1. ‘Street Photography’

Aim: Produce portraits taken of strangers in town, they must explore different techniques (consent, non consent).

Final images:




Street photography was really difficult; it took me a good hour to pluck up courage to ask people if I could take photos of them. It seemed like a total invasion of their privacy, and wouldn’t be something I would enjoy happening to me. However the people asked were all very polite and helpful, as most people are here and it really helped to build my confidence and would certainly be willing to try it out again.

2. ‘Getting In’

Aim: Produce 5 images taken within a local space that you aren’t usually allowed in. Use contacts, ring and visit places in order to gain access.

I gained access behind the scenes at the local newspaper.

Final images:

‘Getting In’ was much better than I expected it would be, once I had arranged access the actual shoot was really fun, and a very interesting experience!

3. ‘Points of View’

Aim: Take photographs around town that embrace different points of view and perspectives. In addition to this at least 3 of your shots must include the use of flash.

Final images:

‘Points of View’ was great fun, a friend and I went round town at dusk and just experimented with using flash to create eerie scenes and getting used to the different effects, like directional, fill in and  bounce flash.

There are some more images taken during the course so far on my flickr and i’ll continue to keep this album updated with any university work throughout the year,  if you’ve got some time please take a look.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Steven Roy permalink
    November 11, 2010 17:51

    I really enjoyed that Lou. Maybe rather than random blog posts you could do one per month and that way you get some perspective before you write anything and it gives you a better record.

  2. November 11, 2010 17:54

    Great idea Steven! I’ll try my best to do that 🙂

  3. November 11, 2010 18:22

    i find it weird there are no pictures of cars.

    love the swing.

  4. November 11, 2010 18:29

    Ehehe! I know, I haven’t taken any motorsport/car shots since Spa, feels a little bit strange, but it’s nice to be exploring other aspects of photography again. Need to get myself sorted for the start of the motorsport season next year though, it’s going to be awesome!

  5. November 15, 2010 09:42

    Wow! Some great lighting in the playground pics! Go Lou!

Leave a Reply

